Sports Theme Of The Quarter – Cricket

Cricket is the most popular sport in India and all over the world. It is a bat-and-ball game played between two teams of eleven players on a cricket field, at the centre of which is a rectangular 22-yard-long pitch with a wicket (a set of three wooden stumps) sited at each end. One team, designated the batting team, attempts to score as many runs as possible, whilst their opponents field. Each phase of play is called an innings. After either ten batsmen have been dismissed or a fixed number of overs have been completed, the innings ends and the two teams then swap roles. The winning team is the one that scores the most runs, including any extras gained, during their one or two innings.

The game started in England in the 16th century. It spread globally with the expansion of the British Empire, leading to the first international matches in the mid-19th century. ICC, the game’s governing body, has over 100 members, ten of which are full members who play Test cricket. Today, it is a popular sport in England, Australia, the Indian subcontinent (India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh), South Africa, New Zealand, the West Indies and a few other countries such as Afghanistan, Ireland, Kenya, Scotland, the Netherlands and Zimbabwe.Women’s cricket, which is organised and played separately, has also achieved international standard. The laws of cricket are maintained by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

Cricket In India

The Indian cricket team, also known as Team India and Men in Blue, represents India in international cricket. The Indian national cricket team won the 1983 Cricket World Cup, the 2007 ICC World Twenty20, the 2011 Cricket World Cup, the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy, and shared the 2002 ICC Champions Trophy with Sri Lanka and many more.

Main aspects of playing the game

Thus, broadly summarized, there are 6 key elements of cricket:

  • Batting
  • Bowling
  • Fielding
  • Catching
  • Wicket Keeping
  • Scoring Runs


Test Match Cricket

Test Match Cricket is the traditional version of the game. These matches are the top international matches played between countries. Test Match Cricket matches can be very lengthy (play may last for several days) and are often not suitable for casual play. This led to the creation of other cricket types.

One Day Cricket

One Day Cricket is also very popular around the world. It’s an exciting version of the game that can be significantly shorter than traditional professional play. The rules are the same; however, teams are limited to only 50 ‘overs’ each.

20-Twenty Cricket

20-Twenty Cricket is a relatively new form of the game. It’s an exciting version that is even shorter than One Day Cricket. The biggest difference, among other minor rule variations, is that teams are restricted to only 20 ‘overs’ each. This shortens the game significantly and can make each play more meaningful. This version of cricket is attracting new audiences throughout the world to the sport.